On July 19 at a regular City Council Meeting, the City of Redondo Beach City Council voted to appoint a new District 1 Council Member to fill the vacancy left when Jeff Ginsburg resigned on June 30 citing family reasons. Martha Barbee was sworn in after a unanimous vote.

The applications for residents seeking appointment for Redondo Beach’s vacant City Council District 1 seat included sixteen eligible applications

Of the two applicants declared ineligible, one was found to have been registered to vote in District 4; the second was registered in Hermosa Beach.

The  applicants were:

  • Martha Barbee, current Redondo Beach Historical Commissioner

  • Tom Bauer, real estate manager

  • Ray Benning, Jr., former Redondo Beach Planning Commissioner

  • Thomas Conroy, former Redondo Beach Planning Commissioner

  • Susan Couig, Los Angeles City Prosecutor

  • Devin Daly, business owner

  • Dave Goodman, current Redondo Beach Planning Commissioner

  • Martin Holmes, Rescue Our Waterfront co-founder

  • Michael Huffman, business owner

  • Randall Kimose, former Redondo Beach Chamber of Commerce President

  • Ben Morse, current Redondo Beach Public Safety Commissioner

  • Nils Nehrenheim, Rescue Our Waterfront co-founder

  • Gary Shammas, retired engineer

  • Rolf Strutzenberg, retired engineer

  • Charlie Szymanski, South Bay Parkland Conservancy

  • Reggie Thomas, current Redondo Beach Parks and Recreation Commissioner